Drone Wars Pakistan: Analysis

Pakistan Strike Totals

370
total strikes
2080 - 3428
total killed
258 - 307
civilians killed
1623 - 2787
militants killed
199 - 334
unknown killed

The purpose of this database is to provide as much information as possible about the covert U.S. drone program in Pakistan in the absence of any such transparency on the part of the American government. This data was collected from credible news reports and is presented here with the relevant sources. It was updated with information from the latest Pakistan strike, which occurred on December 25, 2013.

Drone strikes

= Drone strike (Red for Bush-era strike, blue for Obama-era strike; Size of circle relative to the average estimate of those killed.)

All Pakistan Drone Strikes

Click on the date for more information about a specific strike.

Date Location Total killed Militants killed Civilians killed Unknown killed Target organization
Wednesday, December 25, 2013 Qutab Khel, Miran Shah in North Waziristan Between 3 and 4 total killed Between 3 and 4 militants killed. Unclear
Friday, November 29, 2013 Miran Shah in North Waziristan Between 1 and 3 total killed Between 1 and 3 militants killed. Taliban
Thursday, November 21, 2013 Hangu in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Between 5 and 8 total killed Between 2 and 4 militants killed. Between 3 and 4 unknown killed. Haqqani
Friday, November 1, 2013 Dande Darpa Khel, Miran Shah in North Waziristan Between 3 and 6 total killed Between 3 and 6 militants killed. Taliban
Thursday, October 31, 2013 Miran Shah in North Waziristan Between 3 and 3 total killed Between 3 and 3 militants killed. Unclear
Monday, September 30, 2013 Mohammad Khel, Datta Khel in North Waziristan Between 2 and 4 total killed Between 2 and 4 militants killed. Unclear
Sunday, September 29, 2013 Dargamandi, Miran Shah in North Waziristan Between 3 and 6 total killed Between 3 and 6 militants killed. Unclear
Sunday, September 22, 2013 Shawal in North Waziristan Between 6 and 7 total killed Between 6 and 7 militants killed. Unclear
Friday, September 6, 2013 Dargah Mandi, Ghulam Khan in North Waziristan Between 6 and 6 total killed Between 6 and 6 militants killed. Haqqani
Saturday, August 31, 2013 Mir Ali in North Waziristan Between 4 and 4 total killed Between 4 and 4 militants killed. Unclear
Sunday, July 28, 2013 Shinkai Narai, Shawal in North Waziristan Between 5 and 7 total killed Between 5 and 7 militants killed. Taliban
Saturday, July 13, 2013 Mosaki Village, Mir Ali in North Waziristan Between 2 and 2 total killed Between 2 and 2 militants killed. Unclear
Tuesday, July 2, 2013 Sarai Darpa Khel in North Waziristan Between 16 and 18 total killed Between 16 and 18 militants killed. Al-Qaeda, Haqqani
Friday, June 7, 2013 Mangroti in North Waziristan Between 7 and 7 total killed Between 7 and 7 militants killed. Unclear
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 Miranshah in North Waziristan Between 4 and 7 total killed Between 4 and 7 militants killed. Taliban
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 Sararogha in South Waziristan Between 5 and 5 total killed Between 5 and 5 militants killed. Taliban
Sunday, April 14, 2013 Manzar Khel, Datta Khel in North Waziristan Between 4 and 4 total killed Between 4 and 4 militants killed. Unclear
Friday, March 22, 2013 Datta Khel in North Waziristan Between 4 and 4 total killed Between 4 and 4 militants killed. Unclear
Sunday, March 10, 2013 Muhammad Khel in North Waziristan Between 2 and 2 total killed Between 2 and 2 militants killed. Unclear
Friday, February 8, 2013 Babar Ghar in South Waziristan Between 7 and 9 total killed Between 7 and 9 militants killed. Al-Qaeda, Taliban